Engagement: Take Two

Many months passed before I got up the courage to ask again.  I feared that she might sustain more bodily harm, should I tempt fate and ask her again.  In the meantime, I had procured a replacement ring with much more significance attached: the ring had belonged to my Grandmother, who had passed away the previous winter.  I often brought it out in secret, looking at it in search of bravery.

I waited until Halloween to pop the question; I popped the ring in a pumpkin!  I was sneaky about it, however.  I cut a small hole in the bottom and dropped the ring into the orange-pumpkin-gut bowl.  Then, I closed the hole with the same piece I had extracted, and put it on the table.  Lets carve pumpkins tonight!  I screamed, when she came home.  Umm, ok.

It seemed an eternity before she struck pumpkin gold.  I grew impatient, and sweaty.  I had almost forgot about the ring entirely, when she started to freak out.  Nick, there is something wierd in here!  Really, what is it?  She pulled it out and screamed.  I got down on one knee and she said yes!  The ring, this time, fit perfectly.

This entry was posted in Marriage. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Engagement: Take Two

  1. Meg says:

    Love love love!

Leave a Reply

